Corners

The dungeon now features nicely rounded corners. This was added through the tile query/replacement system, a use I hadn’t anticipated for it, and it worked without having to add any crufty code. It uses the same objects and processes as any other element. I’m really glad I took the time to design a robust system for using assets procedurally, as sprouting new systems every time I want to add a new rule would really stink up my codebase.

I’m going to force myself to move on to more gameplay oriented aspects for a while, like room connectivity, because I could literally spend forever adding little architectural variations that don’t directly relate to the gameplay, and the game must ship. Still, it’s really cool to see things come together visually a bit more.

I’m really excited about the gameplay- I want to combine the things I love about rougelikes with a more action oriented style of interaction and a few trippy ideas about progression. The high level of proceduralism and clean division of the game code into separate systems means that experimenting with different gameplay ideas should be feasible, and implementing sweeping changes in response to testing should be possible in a short space of time. I really want to have the magic system integrated to the point where it can operate in natural but unexpected ways.

For example, arrows are controlled by a simple physics system, and one really cool thing that happened while I was screwing around was that when using a spell that causes objects to be attracted to you, arrows that come near your character are pulled into orbit around you, meaning that you can collect a swarm of arrows and walk up to an enemy, or release them all in the middle of a crowded room. This is an emergent quality of the physics, magic and projectile systems and to me is a lot cooler than a “swarm of arrows” spell that your character craps out on command.

On an utterly unrelated note, I think i’m going to replace the small coble stones with flagstones, as they’re too noisy and don’t read well when moving the camera at speed.

Leave a Reply

