Updates

I’ve been back working on the game for a while now, so I thought I’d post an update with some of the stuff I’ve been doing.

I implemented a deferred rendering setup, which gave a nice framerate boost and would have been easy to hang the lighting system on, but I lost multisampling capability and the result was grotesque. I’m sure it’s possible overcome this issue, but for now I want to progress with other things.

There are still issues with the parabolic shadow mapping but I’m putting it on the back burner for now.

I’ve begun to develop the event system which will act as the backbone that joins all the subsystems together. Rather than have different systems communicate via nightmarish spaghetti code, they can send an event to the event manger, which then gets it where it needs to go. Events can be a simple symbol, like “Full screen mode on” or they can carry data, like “Open Door 132”.It provides a nice interface between systems and will be especially useful for implementing gameplay.

Another nice thing about the event system is that it’s easy to attach a simple scripting system to it. Scripts can be compiled into event objects and passed to the event manager, where no new special functionality has to be included in order to handle them.

I’ve started cleaning up the level generation system to make it as discrete and logical as possible. Higher level systems will need to be introduced on top of the existing functionality, to lay down rooms in logical areas and to handle special cases like corridors and non-rectangular rooms. Things will go a lot smoother if the low level algorithms in the generation process are all encapsulated nicely.

I’m reading up on animation a lot at the moment because I know that it’s going to go horribly wrong and knowing as much as possible beforehand will soften the blow a bit. I’m looking at various XNA animation libraries as well. The Microsoft sample doesn’t really cut it in terms of adaptability, so I’m hoping I can find something documented that imports in a sane format and performs well.

I can’t wait to get a few of the basic gameplay systems in place and see it start to come together as a game. Things are still a bit tech demo like at the moment, and the sooner I start implementing gameplay the more time I have to nuance it and make it fun.

Leave a Reply

